College Football

NCAA Football: TaxSlayer Gator Bowl Announces MVP’s


JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Following a 38-10 victory for Wake Forest over Rutgers University on Bill Gay Grounds at TIAA Bank Field, Wake Forest QB Sam Hartman and Rutgers QB Johnny Langan were named MVPs of the 77th annual TaxSlayer Gator Bowl.

Photograph by James C Garman / SportsPageMagazine

Hartman, the winning MVP, led the Demon Deacons by throwing for 304 yards and three touchdowns. The redshirt sophomore signal caller also had a 35-yard run to set up a touchdown in the third quarter.

Langan caught six passes for 57 yards, including a 27-yarder. Langan also threw two passes for 21 yards and rushed six times for 20 yards.

The TaxSlayer Gator Bowl has recognized a winning team MVP since the contest began in 1946.  In 1953, it also began acknowledging an MVP from the opposing team to honor outstanding individual performances.  Previous noteworthy TaxSlayer Gator Bowl MVPs include Louisville QB Lamar Jackson (2017), Michigan QB Denard Robinson (2011), Georgia Tech WR Calvin Johnson (2007), and Syracuse QB Donovan McNabb (1996).

Wake Forest won the inaugural Gator Bowl against South Carolina on January 1, 1946. RB Nick Sacrinty was the MVP after finishing the game with 188 rushing yards and one touchdown.


Recommended for you